Sunday, July 09, 2006

That was disgusting…

In the history of the world cup, only two times the final has got to the penalties and Italy was part of both of them. Do you any wonder?

A team who defended in front of a 10 Men’s France, a team who didn’t have even one opportunity in the second half, doesn’t deserve to win.

A false penalty in 92nd minute, a goal in 118 minute and a win in penalty thanks to the bar… good luck Italy…seriously…good luck.

I’m beginning to believe in the Catholic God…apparently it works…

Wednesday, July 05, 2006

The loneliest man in the world

Germany lost…at least Italy deserved to win and it lessens the pain….

I was in Brussels, with Ali, Leili and Marjan…Ali and Leili both die hard Italian fans and Marjan, not a real fan but enough anti-German to cheer for Italy, we were in an Italian bar with at least 100 Italians and I'd never felt lonelier in my entire life!

I have to say though, just watching those Italians, swearing and waving their hands was a huge stress reliever to be honest and watching Ali who was accompanying them with the hand gesture and some seemingly Italian phrases that in fact were nothing but noises, so typical of him of course, were quite entertaining!

And after the game, I had no idea that you could find so many Italians in Brussels. They were everywhere, blocking almost every streets in downtown Brussels, dancing and cheering till morning. I felt like I was in Rome and what a bad time for a German fan to be there!

I’m happy that I had so much fun before and after the game that I could handle it rather easily. Although it’s the world game but it’s still just a game and it simply can not ruin my so far wonderful trip!

For now and since I’m in Paris, vive la France and Allez les Bleus!!!

Saturday, July 01, 2006

Paris

I’m leaving tomorrow for Paris to attend Arash and Mana’s wedding. Couple of days in Paris, a day trip to Brussels, a daytrip to Munich if Germany reaches to the final, and a possible trip to Barcelona if I could find a good company. That’s been my plan so far.

Anybody has any idea?! Suggestion?

Orkut’s 9 commandments!

1. You’re Profile photo should be at least from a period of your life in which you could pee on your own!
I know you’ve missed the attention you’ve been receiving when you were three, but believe me, no one fantasize a 35 years old man, in dipper!

2. You’re not here only for Activity partners and business networking if you’re profile photo is more like a Victoria Secret’s add!
Either change your photo or admit that you like attentions from people you don’t have any business with but you don’t mind to be their partner in some activities!

3. Girls, just because our country situated in the continent of Asia, you’re not qualified to call yourself Asian!
For that matter, certain other rules apply.


4. If in your profile photo, you’re in a pink bikini in Cancun, holding a Pina Colada, you can not chose Islam as your religion!
Sorry folks! Islam has some regulations that you’ve already broken a dozen of them in one picture so… get over it!

5. That gorgeous elegant lady with those dreamy eyes is not you, she’s a deceased actress called Audrey Hepburn!
I don’t know how much you hate your actual appearance, but seriously, putting up that beautiful picture there, doesn’t change anything!

6. Dragging your boyfriend into your profile picture is not cute!
There are multitudes of places where you can prove your love to your partner and Orkut’s profile photo is definitively not one of those. Changing your relationship status to committed is the decent, less pretentious way of declaring the same thing!

7. You can call yourself a Very Left liberal, if you can distinguish the difference between your left and right hands!
To be politically Very left is not a symbol of being cool, it’s choosing a life style in which your father should start paying taxes and you can’t go skiing on Monday mornings!

8. Funny and quick-witted are the compliments, OTHER PEOPLE should give to you!
If you are so obsessed to be called those, ask one of your stooges to write a testimonial for you!

9. That dark spot in the horizon could be anything from a palm tree to a lost camel. All cameras these days have a button with which you can zoom in! Next time you want to take a picture for your profile, use it!

Sorry! Since I had to go to the bathroom, I couldn’t wait for God to send the last one. You figure it out yourself.

Friday, June 30, 2006

Deutschland über Alles - Part Five


It won’t be easy, you’ll think it strange
When I try to explain how you sucked
That you try to defend after only one goal
You won’t believe me
All you will see, is a team that has lost
And should go back home, with the tears
and you must get used to it too!

Don’t cry so loud Argentina!
The truth is you surly deserved it
When you are better, and you play defensive
You’ll pay the forfeit
And it’ll be expensive!

Have I said too much? There’s nothing more I can think of to say to you
But all you have to do is look at the tape of match! to know that every word is true……..

(Music)

Thursday, June 29, 2006

Waiting for a miracle!

In the official website of FIFA, there is a place where you can predict “Who will win the golden shoe”. Guess who’s on top of that list? Shevchenko? Ronaldinho? Klose? Crespo? Well, you’re wrong. On top of that list, there is no one but the former Asian player of the year, Mr. Ali Karimi. That's right!

Since it’s impossible to even imagine that the idea can come from anybody’s mind but that of a megalomaniac Iranian with stupidly naïve excessive optimism, we can confidently conclude that there are at least thousands of Iranians who actually were thinking, or worse, hoping that Ali Karimi would beat Zidane, Ronaldo, Figo and dozens of other great players and would win the world’s Golden shoe!



And it’s not only about football, it’s in our blood. Couple of silver and bronze medals in some scientific Olympiads for high school students; convince us that we’re the most intelligent people on the face of the earth. For no obvious reason, and where the word shameful is not good enough to describe the way we treated Persian-speaking hardworking afghan refugees in our country, we consider ourselves the most hospitable nation in the world. We also think about ourselves as the most cultured, civilized, talented and the list goes on.

Isn’t it the time to forget about Cyrus the great and the glorious Persian Empire for once, and really assess who we are and where we’re standing right now, what’s our real potentials and what we can realistically achieve in a short or long term period?

The inconvenient truth (sorry Mr. Gore!) is, miracles almost never happen and in the best-case scenario, people will achieve what they’ve planed for and they’ve worked for. I suppose we still think too poetic to face this fact!

Sunday, June 25, 2006

Being civilized…remember that?!

Great…I stayed at home to watch the match, that was expected to be beautiful, but God, what a shame. It was one of the most disgusting, unfair and repelling matches ever. I can’t even say that I’m sorry for Netherlands cause they were horrendous too. The winner of this stupid game is truly England who will play with “Port” which is Portugal without Deco, Ronaldo and Costinha. I think British were the only people who really enjoyed that game.

Anyway, that shameful win was good enough for Montréal’s Portuguese community to come to the streets, dance, drink, and celebrate. As we were going to TamTam, we participate in their celebration, while we were swearing them in Persian “ Khaak too saretoon baa in team etoon!”. Surly with a smile so they think we are appreciating their catastrophic win!

After all, lying down beneath the mild, beautiful sun and a delicious diner at my favorite place, cafe santropol, made the post-game hours, a pleasing Sunday afternoon.

I also bought a cool Tibetan shirt that I’m not sure whether I’ll wear it or not, cause it’s so not my style. Anyway, I might give it a try.

Saturday, June 24, 2006

The World's Game!

Frankfurt, Germany

Great Moments in Presidential Speeches

Apart from the fact that he’s screwing our planet, I love that buffoon! He’s so funny. I’d really like to be his friend, being invited to his ranch in Texas. I think I’d have the laugh of my life….

Deutschland über alles! Part four

Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah…
That was a nice match…Germany was soooooo good. I didn’t appreciate the red card though. It rather killed the game. The referee could have easily overlooked that foul and let the match continue. It gets on my nerve when the referee ruins a brilliant match, just to be meticulously punctual, just like what happened in the 1998’s match between England and Argentina!

To be a German fan, you have to be as punctual as them. We, my German friend and I, were there, at café Berlin, 10:00 o’clock sharp but it was jam-packed. To be honest, I’d never seen so many white people together anywhere in North America :)

So we went to St-Laurent and we found another great place, where we could watch the match outside, under the sunshine. Beer and Cheer and a good victory.

By the way, to those who’re still so biased that even what they’re seeing can’t change their minds, Klinsmann, even when they were two goals ahead, substituted a forward for another one. I really like to see the same move from those so called “Offensive” teams! So till then, shut up please!

We are going to kick some Argentinean ass next time…

P.S. Why the hell, Oliver Kahn was more depressed than Sweden’s coach?! Cheer up man!

Friday, June 23, 2006

Sleepy cat!

I’m dying to play with a kitty! Anybody knows anyone who has one!

Thursday, June 22, 2006

Episode One,
He’s not drunk. He’s just OK, twirling his glass. He loves the color of this scotch, the smoky fragrance and the ice cubes, dancing around inside this fine Glenlivet.
He closes his eyes and imagines himself being those ice cubes. She gets smoother, tastier and somehow better, like this single malt, as he’s melting away inside of her.
He takes a sip, closes his eyes one more time and enjoys, as the scotch warms his throat down to his stomach. It tastes great, so does life!

Episode Two,
He’s still there and he’s still twirling his glass. The sound of the ice cubes inside an empty old fashion glass sooths him. He closes his eyes…again.
Now, she’s just like these shrunk ice cubes. They’re both melting away to something that doesn’t make him feel any better anymore.
“Do you want another glass of that Sir?”
“No thanks…just a double espresso… and the bill…please”
He continues twirling. It makes the ice cubes melt faster but he, just likes the sound.

Episode Three,
Another day, another bar, the same man. Well, almost the same.
“What can I serve you Sir”
He thinks…he clears his throat and says:
Talisker…straight”

Wednesday, June 21, 2006

The Lake House

I really enjoy reducing the traditional, mysterious and almost divine concept of love, to a pure bio-physical effect of some hormones (such as endorphin, serotonin, norephinephrin and later on, oxytocin) and genetic congruency but even if that’s the case, we’re missing a very important physical phenomenon here, called timing and the movie, The lake house, looks at this matter, within a remarkable, ingenious and amazingly strange love story.

Alex and Kate, a frustrated architect and a lonely doctor, write to each other everyday in a bizarre and seemingly long distance relationship where in fact two years time difference is what creates the distance. In this odd situation, an old mailbox, a dog and a breathtakingly beautiful lake house are the elements that connect them together and all these happen in Chicago, in front of a carefully picked backdrop of the most prominent buildings of this architecturally rich city. That’s all I can say about the story without revealing it more than what the trailer does.

The plot is well structured, cute and full of surprises and while it’s totally fictional, it strictly develops within its logical frame which makes it, although a bit hard to follow but quite believable. The screenwriter, David Auburn proves that with a little bit of imagination and talent, it’s possible to make something brilliantly unique out of a well worn-out genre.

As negatives, I didn’t appreciate the ending that much and the movie tends to get boring as it moves toward it. The dialogues about architecture, specially after all those impressive images, seem redundant and even pretentious. Performances are not impressive either but since neither Keanu Reeves nor Sandra Bullock are exceptional actors, I didn’t expect more. However, I enjoyed the performances of the supporting actors, Christopher Plummer and Shohreh Aghdashloo who is quite charming in this movie.

The lake house itself, which has been specifically designed and constructed for this movie, is to die for. During the film, I couldn’t stop fancying about living in this house for at least a full year. It’s artistically harmonious with the surrounding environment and voluptuously transparent and exposed.

Final word, I’m still a bit reluctant to call this movie a masterpiece or put it in my favorite list, but it’s a movie, definitively worth watching and absolutely satisfying by all means.

Bordelle Français!

You remember how every Bureaucratic procedure in Iran sucked? Today, I kind of understand why. The modern administrations have been imported to Iran from France and God, what a mistake it was. Like buying red wine from Norway!

Today, Sanam and I, went to Consulat Generale de France a Montreal to pick up our Visas. We were there at 7:00 AM sharp, and we were thinking about maximum an hour and half, two hours waiting. right? WRONG! It was, as French say, “un Bordelle!”. It’s even worse since if a Bordelle wants to work such disorganized, it will be bankrupt in matter of weeks!

It took us 2 hours in line, a breakfast, 2 hours of chatting and having coffee in 3 different places, some shopping, watching a bit football and half an hour walking in McGill College street, looking at beautiful models, who were practicing for the opening night of the Fashion and Design festival starting tonight for 5 days.

Exactly! 6 hours to get our visas stamped in our passports! Their printer had problem and the general consulate of France in Montreal, the second largest French-speaking city in the world, doesn’t have a backup printer!

Anyway, the cons: I missed 4 hours of training for the new software, our company has bought recently and I’m also dying from lack of sleep!

But pros: I really enjoyed this magnificent sunshine and delightful weather, with the company of the sweetest girl I know, according to everybody, myself included!

It’s good to skip work sometimes to somehow remember how days look like! Plus…I got my visa , and my ticket and now I’m looking forward to Arash and Mana’s wedding. I can’t wait to see all my dear friends from l’Auberge Montrealais, once again.…so Paris, here I come!